# Kraken

Long-running crypto exchange with spot, margin, futures and perps, plus US stocks and ETFs

Source page: https://trust.chartnaut.com/brokers/kraken  
Website: https://www.kraken.com  
Type: Stocks & ETFs, Futures, Crypto  
Founded: 2011  
Based in: —  
Minimum deposit: USD 10  
Markets: Indices, Commodities, Stocks, ETFs, Futures, Crypto  
Platforms: Own platform / app  
Deposits and withdrawals: Bank transfer, Card, Crypto

## Overview

Kraken is a crypto exchange that's been running since 2011 and has grown into a place where you can trade crypto, futures and, for US users, stocks and ETFs. It suits crypto traders who want deep liquidity and a proper trading screen more than a simple buy button. Kraken runs through separate companies by region: an SEC-registered broker-dealer and adviser in the US with CFTC-licensed futures through Bitnomial, Kraken MTF under the FCA in the UK, a CySEC-authorised firm for EU derivatives plus MiCA authorisations, ASIC-licensed derivatives for Australian wholesale clients, and a Bermuda licence for its international business.

### Accounts and costs

There's one Kraken account, used through two front ends. The basic **Kraken** app is the easy option but charges a 1% fee on instant buys and sells. **Kraken Pro** uses maker-taker pricing from 0.26% down to 0% as your 30-day volume grows. Spot margin goes up to 10x on selected pairs, and derivatives up to 50x where your country allows it. US futures cost 0.5 basis points per side plus exchange and clearing fees. Third-party guides put the minimum deposit at about $10, and there are no inactivity or maintenance fees.

### Platforms and markets

You trade on the Kraken app, Kraken Pro on web and mobile, or the API. The range covers 600+ crypto pairs, perpetual futures on crypto and on gold, oil and US indices, and 11,000+ US stocks and ETFs for US users.

### Money in and out

Crypto deposits are usually free apart from network costs, while crypto withdrawals carry a flat fee per asset. Cash options depend on your currency and include ACH, wire, SEPA and cards. ACH deposits are held from withdrawal for 7 days, and US card purchases can face a 72-hour hold.

## Good

- Licensed in the US, UK, EU, Australia and Bermuda through separate entities
- 600+ crypto pairs with deep liquidity on Kraken Pro
- Spot margin, futures and perpetuals, including gold, oil and index perps
- Commission-free US stocks and ETFs for US users
- No inactivity or account maintenance fees

## Watch for

- The simple app charges a 1% fee on instant buys
- Crypto and cash outside the brokerage portfolio lack government-backed protection
- ACH deposits are held from withdrawal for 7 days
- No MetaTrader support
- Product availability varies a lot by country

## Regulation

- SEC / FINRA: Kraken Securities LLC, licence CRD 324343
- SEC / FINRA: Kraken Adviser LLC
- CFTC / NFA: Bitnomial
- FCA: Kraken MTF, licence 757895
- CySEC: Payward Europe Digital Solutions (CY) Limited, licence 342/17
- ASIC: Beaufort Fiduciaries Pty Ltd, licence AFSL 545124
- JFSA: entity not stated
- Other (AUSTRAC registration (Australia)): Bit Trade Pty Ltd, licence ACN 163 237 634
- Other (Bermuda Monetary Authority, Class F Digital Asset Business licence): Payward Digital Solutions Ltd, licence 202403268
- Other (MiCA CASP authorisations and an EMI licence covering the EEA): entity not stated
- Other (Comisión Nacional de Valores, Virtual Asset Service Provider registration): Payward Trading (Argentina branch)

- API trading: yes

## Accounts and costs

| Account | Min deposit | Pricing | Max leverage |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Kraken (app) | USD 10 | Instant buy and sell with a 1% fee; US stocks and ETFs commission-free | — |
| Kraken Pro | USD 10 | Maker-taker fees from 0.26% down to 0% with 30-day volume | Spot margin up to 10x on selected pairs |
| Kraken Derivatives | — | US futures from 0.5 basis points per side plus exchange, NFA and clearing fees | Up to 50x on derivatives where permitted; Australian derivatives for wholesale clients only |

## What traders say

Checked 2026-10-06.

- Trustpilot: no score (https://www.trustpilot.com/review/kraken.com)
- Sitejabber: 1.4 / 5 from 83 reviews (https://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/kraken.com)
- SmartCustomer: 1.6 / 5 from 76 reviews (https://www.smartcustomer.com/reviews/kraken.com)
- Xolvie: no score (https://www.sikayetvar.com/en/kraken-us)
- Reddit: no score (https://www.reddit.com/r/Kraken/)

Kraken's open review scores are low, and its reputation among long-time crypto users is much better than those scores suggest. It sits at 1.4 on Sitejabber from 83 reviews and 1.6 on SmartCustomer from 76. Our evidence does not show Trustpilot's current score: third-party sites quote anything from 1.4 to 3.4, depending on the date and the regional page. On Reddit many users defend it as one of the most reliable exchanges and argue that review sites mostly attract people with a problem.

### What traders like

- **Security and track record.** The most repeated praise on Reddit is that Kraken has run since 2011 without its custodial wallets being breached, plus extra account protections.
- **The platforms.** Users like the simple app for beginners and Kraken Pro for active trading, and some like holding stocks and crypto in one app.
- **Reliability for routine use.** Many multi-year users on Reddit and Trustpilot say deposits and withdrawals have worked without trouble.

### Common complaints

- **Accounts locked or closed for review.** The dominant theme on Trustpilot, Sitejabber, SmartCustomer and r/Kraken is accounts frozen for verification or income checks, sometimes for over a month, with open positions stuck.
- **Withdrawal holds and delays.** Several reviewers mention holds after bank or PayPal deposits, pending crypto withdrawals and delayed bank transfers.
- **Slow support.** Many say support has become hard to reach and replies are scripted.
- **Fees and limits.** Some reviewers complain about margin fees and low deposit limits for new accounts.

Low-score pages also carry fund-recovery adverts, and scam phone-number posts claiming to be Kraken support circulate online.

### Recently

- **September 2026:** Kraken reported stuck withdrawals and degraded funding on 23 blockchain networks after an outage that began on 4 September, according to BeInCrypto.
- **July to October 2026:** new Trustpilot reviews mix praise with complaints about accounts shut without explanation and deposit limits; Coin Bureau's July review lists verification, withdrawals and closures as the common complaint themes.

### Where this comes from

- [Trustpilot](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/kraken.com): the main review page, score not captured.
- [Sitejabber](https://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/kraken.com): customer reviews, mostly negative.
- [SmartCustomer](https://www.smartcustomer.com/reviews/kraken.com): customer reviews, mostly negative.
- [Xolvie](https://www.sikayetvar.com/en/kraken-us): complaint posts about blocked accounts and withdrawals.
- [r/Kraken](https://www.reddit.com/r/Kraken/): user discussion, plus threads in r/CryptoCurrency and r/Bitcoin.

---

Information gathered from public sources (company websites, regulator registers, third-party review sites). Ratings are quoted from those sources and are not the opinion of Chartnaut.com. Not financial advice. Trading carries a high risk of loss. Questions or corrections: help@chartnaut.com. Methodology: https://trust.chartnaut.com/methodology
